What is the Essential Eight?

The Essential Eight is an Australian Government initiative which focusses on cyber security best practices.

It is broken into three major categories which contain the Essential Eight:

  1. Mitigation Strategies to Prevent Malware Delivery and Execution
    1. Configure Microsoft Office Macro Setting
    2. Application Control
    3. Patch Applications
    4. User Application Hardening
  2. Mitigation Strategies to Limit the Extent of Cyber Security Incidents

5.Restrict Administrative Privileges

6.Multi-factor Authentication

7.Patch Operating Systems

3.Mitigation Strategies to Recover Data and System Availability

8.Daily Backups

Download Factsheet
Back to Home (All Videos)